gridgossips.com 2009-06-03 1957



MALAYSIA’S Fahmi Ilyas plan to bag a quadruple podium finish in the Formula BMW Pacific Round 2 during Asian Festival of Speed at the Sepang International Circuit this weekend is right on schedule.

The 17-year-old London based lad clocked the best time of 2:11.297s in the unofficial practice session today but interestingly he was the second fastest on the grid.

His Team E-Rain Racing teammate Gary Thompson of Ireland was the fastest driver of the day registering a time of 2:11.280s, only 0.017s faster than Fahmi.

“My times are definitely improving but I will need to push harder tomorrow especially in the qualifiers to grab pole position,” said the Kuala Lumpur born.

“The team has been working hard throughout the week and everything seems to be working out but there is still Gary (Thompson) who is a fraction faster,” said Fahmi about his close friend.

Besides Thompson, Fahmi is also expecting the other drivers to step up the pace tomorrow as there are two races scheduled.

A total of four races are schedule for the weekend with two being held tomorrow and the remainders on Sunday.

“I’m entering the weekend with a target of four podium finishes. I am on the pace and I am confident of my chances.”

“However, things are not going to be that easy and I’m sure I will need to be working as hard as I can,” said Fahmi.

A total of 14 drivers have confirmed participation for the weekend.

All four races has been scheduled for 10 laps each.

Formula BMW Pacific

Free practice times

1.Gary Thompson (E-rain) 2;11.280s; 2. Fahmi Ilyas (E-Rain) 2:11.297s; 3. Chris Wootton (Eurasia) 2:11.386s; 4. Axcil Jefferies (Eurasia) 2:11.440s; 5. Rio Haryanto (Meritus) 2:11.945s; 6. Dominic Ang (Holzer PFX) 2:12.610s; 7. Calvin Wong (Holzer PFX) 2:12.795s; 8. Cao Hong Wei (Ao’s) 2:12.891s; 9. Dustin Sofyan (Meritus) 2:12.903s; 10. Akhil Kushlani (E-Rain) 2:13.057s; 11. Fahad Algosaibi (E-Rain) 2:13.283s; 12. Antonio Martinez (Eurasia) 2:14.316s; 13. Steel Guiliana (Atlantic) 2:14.316s; 14. Muhd Alif Jafri (Holzer PFX) 2:14.758s.

Points standing (after 2 races)

1.Gary Thompson (IRL/E-Rain Racing) 28 points; 2. Chris Wootton (AUS/Eurasia Motorsport) 22.5 points; 3. Rio Haryanto (INA/Questnet Team Qi-Meritus) 22 points; 4. Calvin Wong (MAS/Team Holzer PFX) 11 points; 5. Axcil Jefferies (ZIM/Eurasia Motorsport) 10 points; 6. Dustin Sofyan (INA/Questnet Team Qi-Meritus) 8 points; 7. Aditya Patel (IND/Atlantic Racing Team) 5 points; 8. Cao Hong Wei (CHN/Ao’s Racing) 5 points; 9. Fahmi Ilyas (MAS/E-Rain Racing) 4 points; 10. Akhil Khushlani (IND/E-Rain Racing) 3 points; 11. Dominic Ang (MAS/Team Holzer PFX) 2 points; 12. Fahad Algosaibi (KSA/E-Rain Racing) 1.5 points; 13. Steel Guiliana (AUS/Motaworld Racing) 1 points; 14. Zhu Huan (CHN/Questnet Team Qi-Meritus) ½ point.

Rookie Cup

1. Thompson, 28 points; 2. Wong, 11 points; 3. Jefferies, 10 points; 4. Sofyan, 8 points; 5. Ilyas, 4 points; 6. Algosaibi 1.5 points; 7. Guiliana, 1 point