gridgossips.com 2009-06-03 2334



ALTHOUGH his target of four podium finishes in four races will not be achieved Fahmi Ilyas might get three out four at this weekend during the Asian Festival of Speed at the Sepang International Circuit.

Fahmi Ilyas, 17, finished 11th in the 10 lap Race 1 but impressed the paddock by winning Race 2.

It was his first win after four starts in his debuting season.

He clocked a total time of 24:27.865s in the 10 laps race which was 6.374s ahead of closest rival and teammate Gary Thompson of Ireland.

“I had a little knock with Cao Hong Wei in Race 1 which forced me to pit to change my nose and rejoined the race,” said the London based Kuala Lumpur born.

Fahmi, who started fifth form the grid however made the most of this front pack position to snatch full points in Race 2.

After Gary, Rio Haryanto of Meritus clocked 24:36.239s to snatch the final Race 2 podium spot.

The will be another to races tomorrow in which Fahmi will start Race 3 in 11th position and in pole position for Race 4.

“I will de discussing the strategy with the team engineers on how tomorrow’s two races as we will need to plan the tyre usage to maximise my chances,” said Fahmi.

Since its debut in 2003, Formula BMW Pacific has quickly become the region’s premier entry-level junior racing series, providing young karters with optimal opportunities to transition into single-seater racing.

The series races at some of the region’s premier events such as September’s 2009 Formula 1 Singapore Grand Prix and November’s season-closing Macau Grand Prix.

In addition to the showcase events, Formula BMW Pacific also provides plenty of track time for the drivers to gain experience, in this case at the Asian Festival of Speed weekend.

Formula BMW Pacific

Race 1 (10 laps)

1. Axcil Jefferies (Eurasia) 22:07.114s; 2. Gary Thompson (E-Rain) 22:08.080s; 3. Akhil Kushlani (E-Rain) 22:15.077s; 4. Dustin Sofyan (Meritus) 22:18.653s; 5. Calvin Wong (Holzer PFX) 22:20.785s; 6. Fahad Algosaibi 22:29.831s; 7. Antonio Martinez 22:30.798s; 8. Dominic Ang 22:37.535s; 9. Muhamad Alif Jafri (Holzer PFX) 22:46.713s; 10. Steel Guliana (Atlantic) 22:53.970s (1 lap); 11. Fahmi Ilyas (E-Rain) 23:22.245s (1 lap); 12. Chris Wootton (Eurasia) 22:50.843s.

Race 2 (10 laps)

1. Fahmi Ilyas (E-Rain) 24:27.865s; 2. Gary Thompson (E-Rain) 24:34.239s; 3. Rio Haryanto (Meritus) 24:36.925s; 4. Axcil Jefferies (Eurasia) 24:41.243s; 5. Dustin Sofyan (Meritus) 24:41.373s; 6. Antonio Martinez (Eurasia) 24:42.887s; 7. Dominic Ang (Holzer PFX) 24:44.944s; 8. Fahad Algosaibi (E-Rain) 24:44.983s; 9. Steel Guiliana (Atlantic) 24:48.701s.